Our First Year In Dubai …

Wow … so its been exactly 12 months today since Perry and I stepped on the plane and made our move to Dubai … its been an interesting year … I remember leaving Dubai airport with our bags … it was about 6.30-7am … and just stepping out into this sudden wave of heat and humidity … Perry and I just stared at each other with a look that said ‘What have we just done?’ … we bundled our stuff and ourselves into the car waiting for us … got to the hotel Perry’s company had arranged for us … immediately fell asleep for several hours … and thats how it all began …

Alot has happened in this last year … most notably Perry and I got married … and we added two boisterous kittens to our family … we’ve had many high points this year … and some lows … but overall its been an incredibly positive move for us … and we wouldn’t change it for anything …

Below is a run down of what we got up to this last year …

OCTOBER 2011

  • Our first day in Dubai … and a trip to Dubai Mall
  • I went on a quick trip over to Shiraz to visit my Grandparents before starting work …
  • We moved to our first home in the Marina

  • My Dubai By Metro post was published on the featured page of WordPress …

NOVEMBER 2011

  • My cousin Mehran came over for a visit and we took him Dune Bashing

DECEMBER 2011

  • Experienced our first National Day long weekend … it was the 40th this year so a pretty big deal …

JANUARY 2012

  • My Brother visits us for a couple weeks and we go for our first Dubai Brunch

  • Perry and I went on a trip to the Hatta Rock Pools with my Photography Club …

FEBRUARY 2012

  • We brought Hugo home …

MARCH 2012

  • A week later we brought Derek home too …

  • Perry and I went to our first Sandance concert …
  • We had a wonderful holiday in Thailand

  • We got MARRIED … on the beach whilst in Thailand …

  • I had my first car crash

APRIL 2012

MAY 2012

  • Kittens went to the vet to have their little ‘Jarbles‘ removed …
  • We bought the boys a new toy
  • Finally got round to printing photos and hanging our frames for our photo wall

JUNE 2012

JULY 2012

AUGUST 2012

SEPTEMBER 2012

Those are the general highlights from this last year … but of course there is plenty more that we’ve gotten up to and that I’ve blogged about … particularly the Kittens … all the Caturday posts … more of my Portraiture Event … and Travel Photography … as well as sharing Recipes and other Fun/Inspirational/Interesting stuff that I’ve found online …

For those of you who are new to the blog welcome … for those who have been following for a while (or from the start) … thankyou for reading …it really means alot to us …

This all started last year after we decided we would make the move … a friend of mine suggested we start a blog … I wasn’t so sure about it and was reluctant initially … I worried it would feel like a chore … but I soon fell in love with it … I dont consider myself much of a writer and I tend to write how I speak … so its not very elegant … but I have found blogging has been a great form of release for me … to ‘offload’ as it were … now I really enjoy it more than I thought I ever could a year ago …

So I think that just about sums up our first year in Dubai … lots of new things … a few lows … but so many more positives have resulted from these last 12months … its totally been worth it … Perry and I are off out for dinner this evening to celebrate surviving our first year in the desert 🙂

Looking forward to seeing what the next 12 months has to offer …

Till next time …

Mina X

2 thoughts on “Our First Year In Dubai …

  1. Pingback: Thursday’s Weekly Roundup – Cars, Vets & 1yr Dubai Move … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

  2. Pingback: Monday Links For The Week … NYE Special … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

Leave a Reply

