Red Velvet Cupcakes … Recipe & Pictures …

I think I’ve been watching too many cooking programmes this last week … but if there is one thing thats come out of it is now there is a whole raft of things I want to make … after catching up with the Great British Bake Off this week I decided to make some cupcakes … Red Velvet is one of our favourite cakes so I thought I’d do a cupcake version … I’ve included the recipe I used and the substitutions I made along with the photos …

They actually turned out really good in the end …

Ingredients For Cupcakes:

  • 60g Unsalted Butter at Room Temp
  • 150g Caster Sugar
  • 1 Egg
  • 10g Cocoa Powder
  • 20ml Red Food Colouring (I just used a full bottle 28ml to make sure the colour stuck)
  • 1/2 tsp Vanilla Essence
  • 120ml Buttermilk (I used 0% Total Greek Yoghurt and it worked just as well)
  • 150g Plain Flour
  • 1/2 tsp Salt
  • 1/2 tsp Bicarbonate of Soda
  • 1 1/2 tsp White Wine Vinegar (I just used regular white vinegar as it was all I had)

Ingredients for Cream Cheese Icing:

  • 300g Icing Sugar Sifted
  • 50g Unsalted Butter at room temp
  • 125g Cream Cheese, cold (I used fat free philadelphia as it was what I had)

You will also need a 12 hole cupcake tray lined with cupcake cases.

The quantities above makes enough for 12 cupcakes … I just doubled the quantities and made 2 batches … also if you double the quantities it should be enough to make a cake!

Method:

1. Preheat the oven to 170 C / 325 F / Gas Mark 3

2. Put the butter and sugar in a bowl and whisk using an electric whisk until light and fluffy on a medium speed.

3. Turn mixer on high and slowly add the egg, and beat until its all well incorporated.

4. In a separate bowl mix together the cocoa powder, red food colouring and vanilla extract to make a thick, dark paste.

5. Add this to the butter and sugar mixture and mix thoroughly until its evenly combined and coloured.

6. Turn mixed to slow and add half the buttermilk (or yoghurt in my case), beat until well mixed and then add half the flour, and beat until well mixed. Repeat with the remainder of the buttermilk and flour. Beat at a high speed to make sure its all well incorporated.

7. Turn back to a low speed and add the salt, bicarbonate of soda and vinegar and beat for a couple more minutes.

8. Spoon the mixture into the cases until two thirds full and bake in the oven for 20-25mins or until a skewer inserted in the centre comes out clean. (As I only had one tray and made a double batch I accidentally over filled my first batch of cupcakes so turned out with a few less in the end).

9. Leave to cook on a wire cooling rack.

10. For the cream cheese icing, beat the icing sugar and butter together on a medium slow speed until its well mixed.

11. Add the cream cheese in one go and beat until it is completely incorporated. Turn up the speed and mix for a further 5mins until icing is light and fluffy. Be careful not to over beat as it can become runny.

12. When cupcakes are cool spoon on the icing. (I didnt have another large mixing bowl so had to use a pan!)

I found the cream cheese icing turned out abit too soft … so I think next time I’ll use slightly less butter and cheese so it will be a bit firmer. But found putting them in the fridge after icing helps it set.

Hope you find this useful … Perry and I love them … I’m taking the surviving cupcakes to the BBQ tonight … so hopefully the icing won’t melt on the drive over!

Happy Friday everyone … Here’s to the weekend!

Till next time …

Mina X

9 thoughts on “Red Velvet Cupcakes … Recipe & Pictures …

  1. Pingback: Red Velvet Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Icing « Butterflies and Bunny Rabbits

  2. Pingback: Thursday’s Weekly Roundup … Oman, Work & Weekend Plans … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

  3. Pingback: How to Make Red Velvet Cupcakes | cupcakevideos.org

Leave a Reply

