Thursday’s Weekly Roundup … Cars, Emirates ID & BBQ’s …

Hello and welcome to another weekly roundup … we’ve been relatively busy bees this week … and the weekend looks set to be even busier too! … I’ve finally been told we will be starting on our site in Abu Dhabi sometime in the next 2 weeks … honestly I’m in no hurry but it’s nice to have an idea of when stuff is happening … I’ve also booked off a bunch of holiday days as it became apparent this last week that I actually had loads left for this year and not alot of time to use them …

I actually calculated I had about 15 days left … I could literally take a day off a week and still have spare days left at the end of Dec! … crazy … thankfully I can roll some days over and have finally sorted out when I’m taking the others … With Perry’s family, out towards the end of October/November, my family in December and possibly some friends in mid-November … it looks like were going to be uber busy … taking some time off to spend with our family and friends seems like a suitable use of spare holiday days to me …

Perry and I have even managed to squeeze in a little long weekend trip away in the midst of all this happening too … I’m not going to go into much detail about that yet as we still havent booked anything … (other than time off work) … so anything I may tell you is liable to change anyway …

One big thing that has been happening around here is that we have sold our car … Perry and I had come to the decision that it was time we sold the Jag … it made logical (and financial) sense to sell it now rather than wait … doing the drive to Abu Dhabi alone would double the mileage on the car in a year … that and cars over 3years old don’t tend to sell as well in Dubai … parts start to go wrong more frequently … and generally keeping this car will start to become more of a hassle … so with that in mind Perry advertised it online … within a couple days we had an offer and it should all be going through in the next few days … once the bank get their act together and sort out the paperwork …

We ran the numbers and we figured as long as we got a car below a certain value, of a certain age, with below average mileage, that still had atleast a years servicing included (with the option to extend it), is fuel efficient, has relatively cheap tires (doing the Abu Dhabi drive they would have to be replaced atleast twice a year and the Jags would have cost a small fortune), and cruise control …  we would be better off buying a second hand car rather than renting … with such stringent requirements I wasn’t holding out much hope in finding a second hand car that fit the bill too quickly …

But low and behold Perry found it … less than a week after we accepted the offer on the Jag we had found our replacement car … a VW Golf … on paper its a couple years old but its done less than 7,000km, and pretty much fits the bill with everything that we were looking for … its a comfortable drive, fuel efficient, faster than the Jag, and comes with over a years servicing and warranty included … all in all abit of a steal and well below our budget … hopefully the paperwork will be going through on that with the bank shortly (there is always so much paperwork involved with these things) and we should have the car sometime next week …

It was my birthday on Monday … and if you missed it you can see what we got up to HERE!

Also this week I had to go get my Emirates ID … now I had applied to get the appointment back in April … and was given a slot on the 23rd Septemeber! … now thats a back log if there ever was one … finally got it sorted … now just waiting for a text to tell me that its ready so I can go collect it … it was quite funny though as I was getting my finger/hand prints done (they even scan your prints from the side of your hand?!?!) … the lady who was doing my prints was busy chatting away in Arabic to the woman working the next room over … then suddenly out of nowhere they both get up and meet in the doorway between the two rooms … having what appears to be an interesting conversation revloving around some photos on one of their phones … this went on for a few minutes while I was sat there waiting for photo to be taken … a year ago this would have surprised me … now it doesnt seem strange at all …

I also watched almost the whole of the latest masterchef season in the last couple weeks … I think it may have gone to my head abit when making dinner the other night …

As for the weekend … well we have quite a bit on our plates … meeting up with a friend for breakfast Friday morning and going round to another friends house friday evening for a BBQ … (first sign the weather is getting better) … then Saturday Perry and I are off to GITEX Shopper … a bit event held every year for consumer electronics etc … its meant to be really good with loads of deals and stuff … so will see how that goes … and I have some baking plans in mind too … so hopefully that works out well …

Still have a bunch of other bits and pieces to sort out inbetween this weekend … but hopefully it will be fun …

Wishing you all a great end of week …

Till next time …

Mina X

Leave a Reply

