Birthday Weekend Celebrations …

So as my birthday fell on a Monday this year (today as it happens) … Considering it was midweek and its never certain what time Perry will be getting back from AD as its all traffic dependant … he decided to treat me to a weekend birthday celebration a couple days before … I didn’t have a clue what he had planned right up until the day itself …

Initially Perry had organised for us to go out to dinner on Thursday evening but I wasn’t feeling too great that afternoon and we decided to stay in … and opted for a takeaway instead … it was probably a good idea too … as the plan for Friday involved alot of walking, shopping and American sized portions of food!

We started off our day by going for breakfast at Baker and Spice along the Marina …

Love this necklace and matching earrings my Brother got me …

Blueberry pancakes, with mascarpone cheese and peach compote is my favourite …

Instead of getting me a present this year Perry decided that he’d take me shopping at Dubai Mall and let me choose my own gifts … now this may not sound like a big deal but for a guy who hates shopping at the best of times it was pretty huge … I think I literally dragged him round the whole of Dubai Mall … did a full circuit of each floor … randomly popped into and out of about 100 stores … and to top it off he carried my bags for me all day …

As if that wasn’t enough we ended up having dinner at the newly opened Cheesecake Factory … I’d been to one before in LA about 10yrs ago (wow that just makes me feel really old) … and remember the food being incredibly good … not to mention the cheesecakes! … and it was amazing … it might have also been that we were rather ravenous … but I think the food was just pretty darn good …

It was very busy … waiting time was quite long … but we got a buzzer a while before we wanted to eat and went shopping … came back roughly when it was due to go off and didnt have to wait too long …

Perry studying the menu …

Starter of warm spinach, artichoke and melted cheese with tortilla chips … yum!

Perry went for the Oreo milkshake …

I went for the Mocha Choc Chip milkshake … compared to Perrys’ one which has a more mellow taste … mine ended up being more of  powerful hit … delicious but very sweet …

Sorry about the crap photo quality … they turned the lights way down in the restuarant as soon as we sat down … so all the pictures have this awful colour cast on them …that and the iPhone isnt the best at taking pictures in the dark … I made a mistake not taking my camera to the mall …

Anyway we ate so much food that we ended up ordering our cheesecakes to take home … ended up eating those Saturday morning with a coffee for breakfast …

Perry went for the Original while I opted for the Red Velvet …

It was a great day out … I got to be frivolous with my birthday money … something I never do (I always feel guilty about spending money unnecessarily) … spent some quality time with Perry and was spoilt rotten shopping! … Saturday was left free for Kitten playtimes and for our legs to recover from all the walking …

Oh and on our journey around the mall I found a jar of Caremalised Red Onion Chutney … something I’ve been searching for for absolutely ages … finally found it (turns out M&S Food stock it!) … picked up a few other ingredients and made a caremelised red onion, spinach and goats cheese pizza for dinner saturday night … (this was my favourite pizza at pizza express but for some reason its not on their menu in Dubai) …

It was really good … although wasnt too fond of the store bought pizza base … may have to learn how to make my own pizza dough …

That’s it for now …

Till next time …

Mina X

6 thoughts on “Birthday Weekend Celebrations …

  1. Pingback: Thursday’s Weekly Roundup … Cars, Emirates ID & BBQ’s … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

  2. Pingback: Our First Year In Dubai … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

  3. Pingback: Dubai Mall & The Cheesecake Factory … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

Leave a Reply

