Thursday’s Weekly Roundup …

Well its been a busy week for us … all sorts have been happening … its been good cause its all been productive … mostly positive too … and work has started to ramp up significantly … I still haven’t relocated to the Abu Dhabi site yet … there has been some delays in getting everything set up down there … so probably will still be in Dubai for another week …

Last weekend we did a spot of babysitting for our friends Cat and Gav while they headed out to go see Al Murray Pub Landlord down at Madinat Jumeirah … Through the wonders of facebook we learnt through the night that Gav had a pint poured on his head … which made us laugh … and Charlie slept through the whole evening perfectly … except for one moment when he started screaming but once I popped his dummy/pacifier back in his mouth he was fine again … that thing is like an off switch for babies!

Saturday evening we were over to see Cat and Gav again … but this time for dinner and to watch Arsenal beat Southampton rather spectacularly … Gav made a very yummy lasagne and it was nice spending the evening with them catching up … we hadn’t really seen them much since the start of summer … what with either us or them being on holiday/busy/otherwise engaged/etc … so all in all … it was lovely weekend …

Other things that happened this week … we were rather rudely awoken at 1.30am Sunday night when the building’s fire alarm went off … really really loudly … there is no doubt that it works … Perry and I both got up rather dazed and confused by the assault on our senses … my first reaction was to find the kittens … but they understandably being afraid of the noise had gone to hide under the bed …

Now the fire alarm has gone off quite regularly in our building over the last few months … probably about once ever 2-3weeks on average … its enough to make people complacent about it … which is worrying … a couple times we’ve called down to security to check if its an actual emergency and everytime we’ve been told its not … the last few times the alarm only went off for a few seconds before turning off so it was ignored (we always check to be sure anyway) … but this time it went on for long enough for me to consider putting shoes on … Perry thought it was just a false alarm and just as he was about to go and check the alarm stopped …

It turns out what keeps tripping the alarms is dust in a vacant flat in the building … now security dont have keys to go in and sort out the problem … a bit silly if you ask me – but I dont make these rules … so what they have done is turned off the bit of the system that alerts the whole building when the alarm goes in that one flat … it will still alert security … but it should mean no more false alarms at 1.30am!

This whole business with the false alarms recently has gotten me worried about the kittens … as when they go hide under our bed during a fire alarm it is virtually impossible to get them out … I worry about how we would get them out during a real fire if it were to happen … Perry suggests throwing a bunch of chicken/catnip/catfood/insert-name-of-other-cat-treat in their crate and if that doesnt lure them out then flip the mattress and grab them … I’m not sure … I guess I would do what I had to in order to get them out safely … hopefully I’ll never have to deal with that scenario …

In other more positive news … we picked up a couple more frames from Ikea the other week … a couple big ones this time … and it took me some time to figure out what I wanted to do with them …

I decided to make a collage of photos from each year Perry and I have been together … so for the two frames we had I did a 2010 and 2011 collage … we decided to skip 2009 cause there aren’t that many photos of us from that year …

Derek being a little naughty trying to go after the strings for the blind …

Anyway … I was really happy with how they turned out … and they look great hung up on our living room wall too … I also cant wait to do my 2012 collage … but waiting till the new year for that one …

We also had another frame we had bought at Pottery Barn in January … this had a large mount with a really wide border which I wanted to use to frame a picture of Perry and I at our wedding and have the guests sign the frame …

(One of my favourite bits of advice …)

But since the wedding plans changed … and we also decided to go with the ‘Life Advice Tree’ … we put one of our favourite pictures from the party in the frame and stuck all the tags our guests had written for us around on the mount … I really like how it looks … especially with all the colours …

I know I’ve said this before but the flat really does look alot more homely now after finishing the dressing table … and now these frames … the walls dont look so empty anymore …

Plans for the weekend are a complete mystery to me … as its my Birthday next week on Monday … Perry has planned a surprise weekend of activities/stuff to do/etc … All I know is it starts with something on Thursday night … Friday is all planned out … and Saturday is ‘fluid’ … it apparently depends on how we feel … it all sounds rather cryptic at the moment … but I am looking forward to it … I’m usually the planner and organiser … its just how I am … even so its been really nice not having to think about anything for this weekend … just letting Perry take over for a couple days is somewhat refreshing …

I’ll report back next week on how it all goes …

Till next time …

Mina X

One thought on “Thursday’s Weekly Roundup …

  1. Pingback: Our First Year In Dubai … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

Leave a Reply

