Ashdown Forest … A Walk In The Woods …

On my first day down in Ashdown Forest with Perry and his family, Pat had to go off and run a couple errands in the morning before we all went into Tunbridge Wells for some lunch … so after taking photos around the Keepers Cottage … Perry and I took the opportunity to go for a little stroll in the forest and have a general look around …

The forest is so remote that phone signal is practically imposible to get … and Wifi is only available in a little wooden hut a couple mins walk from the cottage … I loved the remoteness of the whole place … it was great!

You could really tell that I’m a true city girl at heart … bugs and creepy crawlies are not my thing … I do love the countryside and all that goes with it … but at the same time if something flies in my face I do tend to have a minor-freak-out-moment … with rather comedic effect …

We also managed to get abit lost trying to find our way back and ended up miles (or so it felt) from where we started … but eventually got back to a bit we recognised and managed to get to the house without any trouble …

Anyway’s I’m not going to talk for too much this time … I’ll let the photos do that for me … so please enjoy …

When I first saw this dragonfly I thought it was dead … turns out it was just very good at keeping still … and it was huge … probably almost the size of my hand!

Here is an example of my first ‘minor-freak-out-moment’ … the first of many as it turned out but the only one Perry managed to catch on camera …

One of the many hundreds of Peacocks roaming the woods … I didnt get to see all that many unfortunately during my stay … The Forest is also home to wild boar (which are kept in designated pens), plenty of deer, and the owners of the cottage rear Rhea birds … but again I didnt get to see these during my stay here … but we did get to see the eggs in the incubator kept in the Wifi Hut …

Quad bikes used by those who work in the forest to get around …

Perry letting himself into the Wifi Hut …

Incubator with the Rhea eggs in …

Perry … with a stained glass panel behind him … finaly with some internet connection …

We had a great time at Ashdown Forest and I would love to go back again next time we go home … hopefully if the weather is nice we can organise a picnic … Ok well thats it for this post …

Till next time …

Mina X

2 thoughts on “Ashdown Forest … A Walk In The Woods …

  1. Well, I just spent my lunch hour watching and reading this. You made me laugh with that Pic. when you are fighting flies !!! Adam was looking at me in a strange way that what are you doing!!!! Well it made me smile and I love perry’s face on last Pic. and many others too. XXXX

  2. Pingback: Our First Year In Dubai … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

Leave a Reply

