New Dressing Table & DIY Jewellery Hanger …

A couple weekends ago Perry and I did an Ikea run … and while we were there wandering through the store we came across this dressing table … it was quite similar to one I have back in the UK … currently sitting in my parents bedroom … (its actually in a couple of the wedding pics from when I was getting ready …) anyway we saw this one and even before I had a chance to say anything Perry had already decided we were getting it …

I had been needing somewhere for my stuff … Perry has his desk for his things and I needed something for me … also I had been meaning to get a mirror for the bedroom … light in the bathroom is so crap the massive mirrors in there are totally wasted … so this desk came with the added bonus of a lovely big mirror …

Anyway I wanted somewhere to hang my jewellery … I dont have much stuff … but I have quite a few necklaces that I have been wanting to display somewhere … mainly because if they sit in a box in a cupboard I will generally forget I have them and end up just wearing one all the time …which is what has been the case for the last year …

Perry assembling the desk … on the new rug …

The desk all finished in the bedroom …

As we were coming out towards the checkout … we stopped by the section where they have the sale stuff … the items that have been slightly damaged or are ex display etc … and there I found what was either a shelf or a piece from a flat pack set that had been separated … I decided this would be the perfect display unit … and before we went home we’d picked up some hooks and white spray paint …

So I did abit of a DIY job with the shelf … if your interested you can see the process in the photos below …

After it was spray painted white …

Hammering in some nails to start with … makes it easier to screw in the hooks after …

After they are all in … yank them out again with the hammer …

Hooks going in …

Hugo checking up on our progress …

These ‘3M Command’ strips are great … they take alot of weight and they come off the walls without leaving a mark … perfect if your renting … so you dont have to worry about nails or holes in the walls …

Stuck up on the wall … need to leave it for an hour for the glue to set …

After I got everything sorted on there …

Managed to fashion a little ring holder out of a small tin I had and some foam …

The necklace my parents gave me for the party … I love it!

I even managed to hang up most of my earrings off one of my lesser used necklaces …

My charm bracelet that I’ve had for about 10 years … been constantly adding to it …

Thats if for now … this is something I’d had in mind for a while now … I’m really pleased I was able to get it done and that its worked too! …

The flat is starting to feel more homely … and after almost a year its about time too!

Till next time …

Mina X

One thought on “New Dressing Table & DIY Jewellery Hanger …

Leave a Reply

