I Love Disposable Cameras!

Have I ever told you how much I love disposable cameras? A couple years ago I rediscovered my love of these cameras and started carrying one with me when I went on holidays as well as my DSLR … whilst it was great to see the photos on the little LCD screen on the back of my camera and know that I had gotten the shot I was going for … that the exposure was right, composition, etc … there was none of the mystery that you get with film … not knowing what the final image will look like till its back from being developed at the lab …

Anyway this brings me to my next point … back when we were planning our ‘Big Wedding’ the first thing I knew I wanted was disposable cameras on all the tables for the guests to take photos of the night from their perspective … and so even after we decided not to do that anymore … ran away to Thailand to get married … and settled on a Garden Party this August to celebrate … I knew that I still wanted to have disposable cameras on hand … I wanted to see the party from other peoples perspective … there would inevitably be pictures on there that the main photographer will have missed … and moments that myself and Perry will have been too distracted to notice …

These were the things I was looking forward too … then as the party got closer … We’d sorted out the cameras … I’d gotten them all set up on the table in our garden with a little note to explain their purpose and crossed my fingers in hope that people will get into the spirit of taking pictures with them …

As it turned out I had nothing to worry about … all the films were used up … and everyone really got into it … although at first it was great to see people fumble about with them not sure of how to use them … forgetting the camera doesnt have an LCD screen … that they have to use a view finder again … that they have to wind on the film … and even something as simple as using the flash proved to be a challenge for some … but by the end of the night we had managed to use up all 14 cameras … and I was as eager as ever to get them to Boots and get them processed ASAP!

I had a whole palava getting them sorted with Boots … their machine broke and so when I went to collect them they said it wasnt ready … and that it would take an extra couple days … now I was leaving the next day and didnt have the time to wait … kinda explained the situation and I gave them the ‘Unimpressed Face’ … this seemed to have worked and the technical engineer working on the machine behind the manager I was talking to came over and promised to get the machine up and running again within an hour and so my photos would be ready by the end of the day …

So yes they were ready by the end of the day … spent the rest of afternoon at my Dad’s restaurant that day and went through the hundreds of prints with all my family … again and again … it was great fun … and there were so many moments captured that I had no idea about … different perspectives of things happening it was great!

Below are some of my favourites from the cameras … again I will post these and some of the others on Facebook sometime next week … but for now … hope you enjoy …

As the party gets started and some behind the scenes style photos …

I had left the cameras out in the garden the night before and this seemed to have effected the first couple photos on each roll … even so I really like the effect it had …

The first and last picture are the same moment with two people taking a photo of each other taking photos!

My Mum having fun and enjoying her wine …

The food was so good … and my Dad appears to have been caught in the act!

My friends like pulling funny faces …

So much food and so much cake!

Three pictures of the same thing … the setup … the alternative angle … the final photo … and all three were from different cameras too! … this is partly why I loved the disposable cameras so much … different people caught different aspects of the same scene … makes for a pretty interesting story …

Love the hair swishing in the above photo …

The one in the top right makes me smile … with the big laugh going on in the background of the shot …

A few pics were taken upside down and I thought I’d leave them that way … 😛

Strike a pose!

More dancing …

Oh yeah … my camera kinda got around … James … Laura … Ricky … and even I took pictures that evening …

Thanks for taking a look …

Till next time …

Mina X

One thought on “I Love Disposable Cameras!

  1. Pingback: Our Garden Wedding Party Featured On “My Lovely Wedding” … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

Leave a Reply

