Thursday’s Weekly Roundup … Birthday Lunch & Airport Drama!

This last week has been no where near as busy as the one before it … but still pretty tiring trying to get into a regular routine again … its been quite hard going straight back to working properly after having 4 weeks of half days followed by 2 weeks off completely … anyways the first couple days were the worst but I think we’ve both pretty much settled again …

Last week Perry and I had organised to go for Lunch on Friday with both our families somewhere near Gatwick airport before our flight in the evening also it was an excuse to celebrate Perry’s 26th Birthday … which happened to be on the same day … As our flight was quite late in the evening I thought we would have a nice relaxed lunch and sit in the pub to chat for a bit afterwards …

As it turned out my Brother, 2 of my cousins (Omid & Mehran) and my Uncle Hassan had planned to go to Barcelona Friday afternoon for a Boys Weekend in Spain … which was fine … when I spoke with my cousin Mehran (who was organising it) about it they still hadn’t booked their flights … so I suggested that they get a late afternoon flight from Gatwick … as we were all going to be going for lunch near there already … and it would be convenient for the other three to meet him at the airport …

So thats what they did … except my cousin booked flights for 3.45pm … considering we had booked lunch for 12pm it was going to be close … thankfully everyone had checked in online and printed their boarding passes … the restaurant was only 5-10mins from the airport which meant we really had to leave by 2.30pm … There went the idea of a relaxed afternoon spent in the pub! … oh and on top of all that my brother had his final exam that Friday morning and wasn’t going to make it to lunch until 1pm …

Anyway … lunch as it turned out was very yummy … and very good value too … we all had a great time … my brother got there all ok and everything was going along really well … until after we had had birthday cake … people then decided to order tea and coffee at 2.20pm! … my uncle then started to ask if we should be leaving soon … and what followed was a rather hurried 10mins of sorting out the bill, downing coffees and trying to squeeze everyone into the two cars … (we had 10 people with 2 suitcases and 5 pieces of carryon baggage) … and a dash down the M23 to the airport …

My brother wasn’t even the least bit bothered by all this … and for some reason I was the one getting all stressed out … It made no sense … he was the one who risked missing his flight while I had over 6hrs before mine … we got to the airport … sent my brother off to find the others while Perry and I sorted our bags and said goodbye to his family before heading into the terminal to join my family …

We got inside and found everyone waiting at security … we said goodbye to everyone and my cousin Mehran who had gone straight to the airport (he didn’t come for lunch) was not impressed … he had been worried they would miss their flight … in the midst of all this discussion ensuring everyone had what they needed … my Dad is waiting at the car at the drop off area … my mum and my auntie are joining the conversation … and Perry is standing there slightly bemused as the conversation (& increasing volume) flits back and forth between Farsi and English so he is somewhat clueless as to whats going on … eventually we bundled off the boys and had a moment to catch our breaths …

I had brought my crutches to London as my foot was still sore before we left and wanted them around in case I needed them … but they were with my Dad in the car … apparently we had walked passed him on our way into the terminal … but we had thought that he parked the car and came in himself … ANYWAY … my mum went back to find my dad to take his place in the car so he can come in with the crutches to say goodbye to me …

While she went off to find him, Perry and I (along with my auntie) headed to the VAT desk to sort out our tax returns … while we are there and I’m trying to sort out these receipts … my mum calls to tell me she is coming back inside with the crutches and that my Dad was just going to wait at the car … while I’m on the phone with her my brother suddenly shows up out of nowhere … with this massive grin on his face …

The three of us were just stood there slightly bamboozled as to why he had come back … to which his reply was that he’d made a bet with my cousin Mehran that he could wait until 20mins before the flight and still make it … at which point I started getting nervous again … called him an idiot and that missing his flight wasn’t worth the bet … but hey he’s just as stubborn as I am and wouldn’t listen to me … my mum showed up and my brother finally headed off for his flight … (he did make it in the end) …

Perry turned back to me at some point during all this commotion and simply said ‘Trying to organise your family at the airport is like trying to herd cats!’ … not far from the truth … the fact is there are members of my family like me, my mum, and cousin that like to be at the airport early so we dont have to stress about it … and then there are those like my brother (and my dad to a certain extent) who are so laid back when it comes to travelling they are quite happy to rock up at the airport at the last minute and dont worry about it … so the combination of these clash of personalities can cause some incredible stress sometimes …

After catching our breaths and taking a moment (for my blood pressure to return to normal) … my Mum and I headed back out to find the car so I could say a proper goodbye to my Dad … after that we came back in … weighed our bags … repacked them abit … both were pretty much bang on 30kg! … then Perry and I said our goodbyes to my Mum and Aunt before settling down for a coffee while waiting for the check-in desk to open up …

When it came time to check in we got through the queue and the everything went well with our bags … until the guy behind the desk asked to weigh our hand luggage … at this point I think my face dropped so dramatically it was a dead giveaway that they were overweight … 12kg and 14kg each … slightly shameful I know … but my hand luggage bag in particular is always over weight cause I cant check my camera equipment or laptop … those alone weigh about 10kg combined (I even opened up my bag to proove it to the guy) … and well the rest of our hand baggage was taken up by overspill from our main bags … I sort of stood there looking sorry for myself and gave the guy abit of a sob story … I’m not sure if he bought it or not but he let us go without charging the excess baggage … in all honesty though its the first time I’ve ever been asked to weigh my hand luggage before!

We got through security fine and enjoyed a couple hours in one of the lounges before our flight … the flight back was relatively comfortable … the food was good and films were better than when we flew out … once we landed we got through the airport pretty rapidly and were home soon after … spent the rest of the day playing with the kittens, tidying up, doing laundry and sleeping … it was a rather random day …

(view from the car at the lights after dropping Perry off to catch the Pool Car)

Over a couple days we finished tidying away our bags and generally got back into a rhythm again with going to work … I found out on my first day back that I was being put onto a new project … which was great cause my last one is practically finished now and there isn’t much left to do on it … the down side of the new one is that its in Abu Dhabi … so it means a commute of about an hour and over 110km each way!!! … significantly longer than my current 10min trip down the road … needless to say I’m not particularly happy about it …

I start on site next couple weeks … once the site offices have been set up properly … and Perry assures me it wont be as bad as I’m imagining it … he went through the same sense of dread in the run up to starting on his Abu Dhabi project but now he seems to have adjusted to it fine … anyway I guess we will have to wait and see how it goes … I popped down this morning with my Line Manager to check out the location and while it is an hours drive its relatively easy to get too … and there is a mall literally across the road from our site offices … atleast I will have somewhere to go for food if I needed …

We haven’t gotten up to much else this week … just spending loads of time with the kittens and trying to get to sleep at a reasonable hour … were planning a trip to Ikea this weekend, going to see the new Batman film and out for dinner with friends Saturday night … but otherwise mostly a mellow weekend …

How has your week been?

Till next time …

Mina X

P.S. All photos (except last one) were taken by my mum … 🙂

One thought on “Thursday’s Weekly Roundup … Birthday Lunch & Airport Drama!

  1. Pingback: Our First Year In Dubai … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

Leave a Reply

