Garden Wedding Party … August 2012 – The Photos!

Ok everyone I’ve been promising to post these photos over the last week and here they are … finally … I haven’t posted every single one … and as it is there are loads of pictures … I will probably get round to posting these and the rest on Facebook later at some point … but for now I’m just posting them here … ADVANCED WARNING THERE ARE LOADS OF PHOTOS!

Photos from the day were taken mostly by a good friend of ours Ricky … he was helped out by another friend James during the party … and I took a few pictures myself … Even on this one day I couldn’t let it go enough not to pick up the camera!

It was a very busy day from the get go … but everything seemed to be moving along quite nicely … my mum’s hairdresser Richard arrived on time to do my hair and then moved on to do the Mums hair too … followed by Nassim an old family friend who arrived to do my make up … they both did such a great job with the hair and makeup …

Richard even went so far as to do my nails without me even having to say anything … he took one look at my rather sorry looking fingernails … grabbed my mum’s nail file and got on with it … barely even pausing to see if I even wanted my nails done … to be fair he did a much better job of it than I ever would have … My hair and makeup felt quite natural for me … both included elements of things I do myself (such as plaits in my hair and a focus on eye makeup) … although more done up than I normally would (or even could) achieve on my own … I still felt like myself which was at the end of the day is the whole point …

Following this it was a bit of a team effort to get me into my dress with my mum and Vicky helping to get the corseted top laced up properly … I meanwhile was on the phone to family in Iran who had called to wish us a good day … apologising for not being able to make it …

As some of you have already picked up from some of the photos I posted earlier … I wore custom made Converse Trainers for the party … heels and me dont have a good relationship … I usually end up hurting myself … plus I wanted to be comfortable enough to dance the night away without worrying about my toes being squished … Perry also wore a pair of high tops with his suit … His were covered with comic book characters … the Good guys on one shoe and the Bad guys on the other … We are both big fans of Converses so it felt appropriate to wear them … Also as only a few people knew about the shoes it turned out to  be a great surprise to everyone when they first spotted them … and I kept getting gasps of ‘Oh My God Your SHOES!’ throughout the evening …

Once ready Ricky took a few pictures of me in the bedroom as I got Perry’s present ready … now this was sort of a belated wedding gift/early birthday present for Perry (his Birthday was at the end of August) … which he was not expecting at all … I had saved up for months and months to get him a Tag Heuer watch he has been drooling over pretty much since I met him … so it was great to finally be able to surprise him with it …

Perry first saw me down in the tent after we had both gotten ready … I was going to wait till the party started to give him the watch but felt it was more personal to give it to him before hand … as I had hoped he loved it and spent some time tinkering around with it getting it set up …

The plan had been to head out to a local park with Perry and Ricky to take some photos outdoors but while we were discussing where to go and getting ready the skies opened up and the most horrendous rain came down … so we decided to forgo the idea and did our photos in the tent … which actually turned out to be great in the end … although at one point the thunderstorm got so bad the roof started leaking and water was gushing in from the sides of the tent …

I probably would have burst into tears if it hadn’t been for Perry and my Mum rather sternly telling me to ‘Pull It Together!’ … in the end the rain stopped … the leak was fixed … and the water (I swear there was a swimming pool forming in the middle of the marquee) was brushed away … everyone kept telling me that this would be something I’d look back on and find funny … well its been almost two weeks and I still don’t find it to be too funny … maybe in a couple years time …

By this time it was getting close to about 4pm when people started arriving … Perry’s family from Winchester arrived along with some of my closest friends … it was great to see everyone’s reactions when they saw the dress … and our shoes …

The whole evening went really well … I had set up a table with a bunch of disposable cameras for the guests to take pictures throughout the night … Jars of our homemade jam ‘Spread The Love’ were the party favours for guests to take home … A simple birdcage was set up for people to place their cards in … and a bunch of colourful luggage tags and pens were left so people could leave us some ‘Life Advice’ hung up on the tree next to the table …

It was great to see everyone really get into the spirit of the party and taking pictures with the disposables … they turned out great and it was great to be able to see the party from other peoples perspective … there are images in there of things we weren’t even aware happened … I’ll be sharing those later in the week … We also got some great ‘Advice’ …

The food for the night was catered by an Iranian Restaurant – Persian Palace … they came and set up their cooking station near the garage and everyone agreed it was so yummy … especially the freshly made bread they kept serving up straight out of the tanoor they had brought with them …

There was alot dancing … food … and general merriment that night … the rain held off … for the most part and everyone had a really good time … the only sad part was that it had to end … but for all the stress and time it took to organise this ‘Simple Garden Party’ … it turned out pretty amazing … even my brothers unexpected speech and photo slideshow at the end of the night was brilliant!

Hope you enjoy the Photos …

The photos in the set above totally remind me of THIS PICTURE

Thanks for taking the time to have a look …

Till next time …

Mina X

7 thoughts on “Garden Wedding Party … August 2012 – The Photos!

  1. Pingback: I Love Disposable Cameras! | Our Adventures In The Middle East

  2. Pingback: Our First Year In Dubai … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

  3. Pingback: Our Garden Wedding Party Featured On “My Lovely Wedding” … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

  4. Pingback: Thursdays Weekly Roundup … Our 1 Year Anniversary … Iranian New Year … & More Visitors … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

  5. Pingback: Weekly Roundup … A Quite Home … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

Leave a Reply

