Thursday’s Weekly Roundup …

Hello Everyone … its that time of the week again for a bit of a roundup of what’s been going on this week with us … and it has been busy and knackering … but in a good way … it feels like alot has been happening this week … so that’s always good … I will apologise in advance for the long post … alot happened this week …

Starting off with abit of a brief rundown of what we got up to last weekend … We ended up going out Friday evening with our friend Brian for some dinner at a restaurant called Thyme in the Marina … Perry and I sort of stumbled across this place the other week … We’d been past it a couple times before as its in the same hotel as Wagamama’s and so we decided to go try it out … it was surprisingly good for what it is … it’s a buffet dinner kind of place with different food stations and made to order dishes … and we had a good time there with Brian on Friday night … it was good to catch up with him after his trip back to the UK …

Saturday was abit of a ‘let’s-get-stuff-done’ day … we went to three different banks, got lost on the roads around Jebel Ali trying to find one of them … had lunch and did some chores before heading out to Dubai Mall to the last of our pre-London errands … grabbed a bite to eat for dinner and followed it up with the yummiest ice cream ever! … at least I think so … Cold Stone Creamery is my favourite … it’s just really good!

I was back at work this week … thankfully by the time the weekend was over I was ok enough to walk around with the foot brace without needing the crutches … which was a big relief … I didn’t really fancy getting round the office with those … Although when I left in the afternoon about 2.30pm I literally have never been so hot when getting into the car … unfortunately we don’t have shaded parking near my office so I have to park the car in the sun … and today I could feel my skin burning through my clothes it was so hot … turned the car on and the external thermometer was reading 53C … the inside felt like a sauna … even with the AC on it was really uncomfortable for the first few mins … it wasn’t till I was nearly home that the temp in the car finally got down to a cool comfortable level …

Oh and another thing that happened Sunday afternoon as I was driving back … as I was coming down Sheikh Zayed Road I saw what I thought was a really odd looking cloud hanging over the road … then I noticed all the cars putting their hazard lights on and slowing down … as we got closer I noticed there was a fire on the other side of the road and the thick black smoke was just billowing out over the road … as it turned out a construction site had caught fire … I am assuming no one was injured as the incident was barely reported in the news …

The last few days we’ve been getting the final plans sorted for the party … little things that I hadn’t thought about till now … but I think it’s all sorted now … between my parents and Perry’s parents it should all be covered … and anything else can be dealt with when were back in London …

The kittens are incredibly cute these days … all bounding around and being very cuddly … Derek especially has become very vocal with his demanding nature … their voices are quite different now so I can tell them apart by the way they meow … Hugo is increasingly disruptive in the mornings … actually they both are but Hugo is the main culprit … he waits till our first alarm goes off and we start to stir … (normally we don’t get up till the second alarm 10mins after) … but this is usually when he starts to walk around the bed … around our heads … bats things off the side table … or off the headboard and onto our heads … basically starts creating a racket until we relent and get up to feed them …

We do make sure though that we don’t feed them straight away … as annoying as it is currently I don’t want to encourage the behaviour so we wait till we’ve gotten up and started getting ready and about half way through one of us will go feed them … sometimes they are perfectly fine in the morning and don’t do anything disruptive … a couple weekends ago they let us sleep in till 8am!!! … but lately it’s been all about them trying to get their own way … and considering were leaving them behind for two weeks my guilt is getting the better of me and I’m letting them get away with more than I normally would …

Been getting lazy this week with making my lunches … so been going for the easy option of a spring onion, ham and cheese scrambled egg/omelette type dish … it may look like a mess but it sure is yummy!

I finally got the insurance situation sorted with my Allergy Doctor and went back to the Emirates Hospital earlier this week to get my first round of Allergy Shots administered … basically they inject you with small doses of the allergens you have reactions too and slowly build up your immunity to them over time … and each injection is a bit stronger than the last … the course involves 24 injections and can only be administered 4 per visit (it can be less depending on how you react to them) with 15-30min between each injection … you know … to be sure you don’t have a really bad reaction or your arm doesn’t swell to the size of a balloon or anything … anyways I got my first round of 4 done with no problems … got my next batch booked for after we get back …

I also left with a prescription for two months supply of anti allergy medication … I went to the pharmacy the next day to get it filled and left with two bags full of the stuff … I think I emptied out their stock of allergy meds …

Monday night we headed down to the Byblos hotel in the Marina … right next to the Yacht Club for their Iftar dinner … this had been organised by the RICS (Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors) in Dubai … so our friends Paul, Sarah and Terri made it down to join us for some food … it was a good night and was lovely to meet some new people too …

The other night we decided to move some of our sofas round to see how it would look in the smaller dining room area … and actually it’s not too bad really … I quite like it … it makes it look really cosy … but the kittens were really baffled by all the moving stuff and rearranging of their toys … they weren’t too fond of it … once it was all moved though they were all over it … suddenly they could get up another level on the window sills which they got quite excited about too … we will probably move it back again over the weekend … we just feel it’s a bit of a waste of space … the largest living space of our flat being left empty in favour of using the smaller room just doesn’t really make sense … especially as we don’t have a dining table … but I like changing things up every now and again … it makes a difference and things feel new again … for a bit atleast …

This weekend we have alot of stuff to cram in … we have a list of last minute errands we need to get out of the way before we leave, do a proper clean of the flat, make sure we have enough kitten supplies for the pet sitter while were away, start organising our packing … atleast making sure we get the essential stuff put away … do lots of laundry and pamper the kittens a bit … they probably need another bath and their nails clipped … oh and were also going out with friends hopefully on Saturday night too … it’s going to be a busy couple days!

So excited were heading home next week … not long left now 🙂

That’s it for this week … Hope you all have a lovely weekend coming up … let me know if its anything interesting/exciting/different/or even run of the mill stuff!  …

Till next time …

Mina X

Leave a Reply

