A Run Of Bad Luck …

Hello Everyone … This weekend I suffered yet another injury … This time to my foot … I am not having much luck the last few months with my health … first it was all the allergies that took ages for me to sort out … then it was my old back injury flaring up a couple weeks ago … and now I seem to have done myself a mischief yet again …

I’ll start from the beginning and it will be easier to explain … I woke up Friday morning and could barely walk … I hadnt fallen over or knocked my foot the day before or at any point recently … so I was rather un prepared for the pain … anyway I spent most of the day resting it and it was starting to feel better in the afternoon … not knowing what it was … I figured it was just a minor thing that I could probably walk it off and didnt want to waste time going to the hospital to get it checked …

On top of that we were going out for dinner that evening with some friends down at the Yacht Club … by then my foot was feeling much better … still painful and I could still only walk with a limp … but I felt ok enough to walk there … BIG MISTAKE … by the time we got there I was in so much pain … but didnt want to kick up too much of a fuss infront of everyone else … and thought if I got a few cocktails down then it’d help numb the pain … well lets just say it didnt help …

After dinner Perry and I went home (by taxi … at this point Perry had to practically carry me it hurt so much) … and watched the opening ceremony on the TV …

We got up Saturday morning … and having forgotten that I’d hurt my foot somehow I promptly stumbled and screamed as I tried to go get a drink of water at 7am … yep it still hurt … and not only that it was significantly worse … what really confused me was that there was no significant signs of any swelling or bruising … or anything that showed the food may be injured …

Anyway by now we both decided it was time to go to the hospital and have it checked properly … so we headed over … Perry got to wheel me around in a wheelchair for the morning … and after an X-Ray they were thankfully able to rule out a stress fracture … so the final diagnosis (considering there was no obvious trauma to cause the injury) was a Lateral Ligament Strain …

I was sent home with some strong pain kilers … crutches and a Doctor’s note to keep off my feet for atleast a couple days … so then I had the joy of ringing my manager to tell him I’d not be in for the next few days … thankfully I have my work laptop at home so am able to get on with some of my stuff while I’m off …

So I’ve spent most of the day on the bed … my foot elevated on several pillows … playing with the kittens, watching the olympics on iPlayer and getting on with my work … Looks like I’ll be doing the same again tomorrow …

Hope you all had a better weekend than I did!

Till next time …

Mina X

3 thoughts on “A Run Of Bad Luck …

Leave a Reply

