Al Aqah – Kor Fakkan – Sunrise Landscape Photography Trip

So last week on the 20th July I headed out with almost 30 other photographers from EPyC for a Sunrise Landscape Photography trip out by the Gulf of Oman near Kor Fakkan … in an area called Al Aqah … Having gone out for dinner with friends the evening before … I didn’t get to sleep till 11pm and had to get up again at 1am to get ready before being picked up by my ride at 1.30am … I wasn’t going to even consider driving on my own … knowing I’d be tired it wouldn’t have been a clever choice …

I had already sorted all my equipment the day before and had everything ready in the lounge … even left my clothes in there so I wouldn’t wake Perry by clattering into a cupboard or something in the dark … I had a blinding headache when I woke up … I assumed this was mostly due to tiredness and lack of sleep … so took a couple pain killers and got some food, coffee and water together and promptly left …

Sasha … who was kind enough to give me a ride that day … had also agreed to pick up two other people on our way up … so as we chatted and I gave him directions … I discovered that he was also Iranian … and had spent some years living in Canada … so as we had plenty of common ground conversation for the journey was not going to be a problem …

We picked up Dipp and Sally along the way … Dipp who had only been in Dubai for a month was very excited and it was great to see Sally again too after seeing her around a few meetups previously …

We met up with the rest of the group at the Century Mall Car Park in northern Dubai just up past the Airport and after checking that everyone who was meant to be there was infact there … (a number of people were making their own way and meeting us at the site) … we headed off … convoying with about 7-8 cars for the 2hrs or so it took to reach the destination …

By the time we got there we had already heard the calls to prayer signalling the start of Ramadan … and so we were in a bit of a rush to find a good spot on the beach to get our tripods etc set up amongst the rocks …

You can just about see Subodh Shetty in this picture (He’s wearing the red T-Shirt) … this is a guy who organised this trip and take some great pictures …

It wasn’t long after we started taking photos that I realised my back was starting to hurt … all the crouching over to look through the view finder wasn’t helping … that and my headache hadn’t gone away even slightly … still I persevered and decided I’d try to make the most of the situation … after about 20mins I needed to take a break … I was in quite abit of discomfort and my head was spinning … so I went to find a dry rock to sit on before I got too dizzy and drop my camera in the water …

While I rested I took the opportunity to take a few detailed pictures of the things I found on the beach …

These little mounds of shells were all over the beach … and they were constantly moving about … the little crustaceans in them trying to get up and you could see little legs poking out …

I even saw a crab scuttle past me at one point … and followed it to where it was hiding under a rock … I didn’t want to disturb it so I just took the best picture I could and left the little critter alone …

After a bit of a rest … the light started to change and not wanting to miss out I decided to try and take a few more photos … I moved up along the beach abit more and got my gear all set up again … I was right down by the waters edge at this point and had wedged my tripod legs between rocks in the water to keep it steady …

You can see about half our group lined up here along the beach …

I must admit wearing Birkenstock sandals on a wet rock beach was probably not the wisest choice … I kept having to catch myself from slip-sliding all over the place … and once my feet got wet … which they did pretty quickly … it got worse … Luckily I managed to get through the morning without falling over … & my equipment all managed to survive …

By about 6.30am it was getting really humid and hot … to the point where it was becoming quite uncomfortable … I saw Sasha was heading back to the car as were a few others so I decided to head back too … atleast I’d be able to sit on an actual seat with some cool air while waiting for the others to finish up …

Once everyone had gathered around by the cars again it became clear that some people had had enough for the day (our car load of people included – I was in alot of discomfort by this point and knackered) … others wanted to go on to a different location to keep shooting … while the rest wanted to stay where they were …

So we headed off back towards Dubai … we stopped at a petrol station for a toilet break … and as I was walking back to the car I noticed Sally leaning on the railings infront of the petrol station store munching away on a sandwich … she was completely oblivious as to the fact that it was Ramadan … having forgotten … it seemed a number of people had forgotten Ramadan started that day … as I noticed a few people eating and drinking in their cars that morning …

It doesn’t particularly bother me … I figure if there isn’t anyone around who’s fasting … then you’re not really offending anyone … and up until we were at the Petrol station there wasn’t anyone else around to see if you had been eating … other than other members of our group … and thankfully it was a very quiet morning that day so Sally didn’t get into any unwanted trouble …

As we continued on our way back … we saw there was alot of mist hanging in the valleys of the Hajir mountains and took the opportunity to pull over and snap a few pictures … it was beautiful to see and I didn’t want to miss the opportunity even if I was in pain …

Anyways … we got back to Dubai and I was home by about 9am … got home to find Perry was still in bed asleep … only having gotten up to feed the kittens … I’d gone and had a full 8hr day while he slept!

By the time I walked through the door my back was in so much pain I was hobbling … I dived straight into bed and pretty much stayed there the rest of the day … I have an old back injury and every now and again it can flare up … usually its a combination of things … poor seating position, lack of physio exercises and picking up heavy things are some of the triggers … thankfully it was all pretty much better by Sunday morning …

Hopefully the next time I do one of these trips I wont be in so much pain and I’ll be able to spend more time at the location trying out different ideas and techniques etc …

Hope you enjoyed that … I know its a long post … and sorry for that … if you’ve made it this far and are still reading I really appreciate it …

Till next time …

Mina X

13 thoughts on “Al Aqah – Kor Fakkan – Sunrise Landscape Photography Trip

  1. Neat images Mina, esp love those layers of mountains. Glad the event was a success. Soon there will be one more event coming up from my end, so get tht ‘back’ fixed soon 😉

  2. Long post but it was definitely worth it. Loved the mist in between the mountains and all other pictures are very nice as always. XX

  3. Pingback: Thursday Weekly Roundup … & Weekend Plans … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

  4. Pingback: Our First Year In Dubai … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

Leave a Reply

