Ramadan … The Start …

Hello Everyone … This weekend was abit of a bust … didnt really do much … after getting back from the early morning photography trip I slept most of the day … managed to find some strong painkillers and my back had eased up enough so I could go out for Chinese that night with friends … But then it was quite tense on Saturday and spent most of the day resting it … I felt ok enough in the evening to go out … and since we had no food we decided to head to the mall for dinner …

We waited till after iftar and headed to Mall of the Emirates … I was initially surprised with how quite the car park was until I realised most people were probably off somewhere more interesting for Iftar … but it worked out well for us as we got a good parking space … (its the little things in life) …

Headed to MORE cafe for dinner … it was yummy, I had the butter chicken and Perry had the spagetti and meatballs … and it was so filling … we wandered the shops abit and kept going to hold hands and had to remember not too … one of the rules of ramadan … although we saw plenty of people flouting the ‘dress modestly’ rule … plenty of short shorts, mini skirts and strapless tops were seen … hmm …

Anyways … today was our first working day during Ramadan … it was all fine … I just had to get up abit earlier than usual to be sure I had time for my toast and coffee before leaving home … I would normally have had breakfast at work … The morning flew by quite quickly and before I knew it it was approaching 1.30pm … I looked around and slowly saw everyone was packing up and leaving … so by 1.50pm enough people had left that I decided it was about time I left too … Although I did take my laptop home with me to answer any emails etc … It felt really odd to be leaving work before 2pm … I felt abit guilty about it for some reason …

Anyway nearly burnt myself in the car … it was literally on fire it was so hot … turned it on … and noticed it was 47 degrees … my back was melting into the leather seats and my hands burnt on the steering wheel … putting the AC on full blast eventually took the edge off and I managed to get going … I was pretty thirsty and getting hungry by this point … but I had to do the food shop before going home … by far the most painful thing to do when your hungry and thirsty is to walk around a supermarket knowing you could be arrested for having a sip of water …

Finally I got home around 3pm … although doing food shopping on my own and then carrying it all up to the flat was probably not the smartest move considering how my back was this weekend … but all was ok …

The kittens looked more confused than ever to see me walk in through the door … Hugo had a serious ‘Why have you disturbed my sleeps?” face going on … but since waking up they have become very demanding … so I’m currently sat here typing and having to bat Hugo away as he keeps trying to catch the curser/arrow on the screen … and then he keeps walking across the keyboard opening up new things and closing others … frustrating attention seeking behaviour … but he’s finally settled down curled up next to me … Derek is off on the cat stand … although he had his demanding moments too …

Perry just got home now … We’re going to head out to look for some RAM for my computer … My Macbook has been deathly slow lately … if I’m running photoshop it goes at a snails pace … forget about having anything else running at the same time … so Perry is going to see if he can upgrade my RAM for me …

Hope you are all having a good Sunday … oh and Ramadan Kareem to everyone fasting …

Till next time …

Mina X

2 thoughts on “Ramadan … The Start …

  1. Hi guys, a gloriously hot Sunday here in the UK – although still no-where near the 47 mark!!

    Tom and I spent the morning at the garden centre, then watched the German Formula 1.

    After that finished we walked to a pub and sat in their garden with cool beer and cider πŸ™‚

    Home now to finish off cooking a gammon joint for dinner later. Think we’ll eat outside which will be the first time this year…!

    Looking forward to seeing you both next month πŸ™‚

    Tom & Claire

    • I meant to reply to this sooner … sounds like you guys had an awesome weekend … cant wait to catch up when were back in town … are you coming to the dinner were organising on the bank holiday monday?

Leave a Reply

