Thursday’s Weekly Roundup …

Hello everyone and happy Thursday … Its the weekend … well atleast it is for us here in Dubai … lots of stuffs been happening this last week and things have been quite busy of late … last weekend was pretty mellow as we didn’t get up to that much … Perry went off to play golf with a couple of friends on Saturday evening while I stayed at home catching up on trashy TV …

Last week I had taken our car in for a service and I finally got to go collect it on Monday evening … and after driving it round for a bit I had noticed that they hadn’t really done anything to it … there were a number of things we had asked them to check and one or two things needed to be fixed … and even though they say they checked and fixed it all … its quite clear that they haven’t … so we were both abit annoyed by this and Perry is now following it up … I think my lack of understanding about cars is possibly slightly to blame for this … and the language barrier with the people who work in the service garage also meant it was hard for to get them to understand the problems I was trying to explain … either way Perry is now dealing with it and hopefully will get it all sorted soon … I’m just glad to have the car back!

I was supposed to have another appointment with my allergy doctor earlier in the week, but got a call from the Hospital saying that my insurance had denied the treatment the Doctor wanted to pursue … luckily I have two different medical insurances so I gave details of my alternative and am now waiting to hear back about approval so I can make a new appointment … it’s annoying … and I can’t quite get my head round the fact that the original insurance company I used approved the tests and now that it’s been confirmed I have something they refuse to treat it?!?!? … it just doesnt make sense to me … there is alot about how the system works here that doesn’t make sense so I’m quickly learning to just let it be …

On a side note … I made a yummy shepherd’s pie this week to take to work for lunch … it was yummy and I think cauliflower mash is a new favourite of mine … nom nom …

On Tuesday we had another one of our Emirates Photography Club (EPyC) meetups which went really well … had a good turnout actually close to 40 people total … which was great … lots of new faces and lively discussions … if you are in Dubai and interested in Photography you should check out the group on the Meetup website and come along to one of the Biweekly’s … it’s a good laugh …

Last night I got home and had a good long Skype call with my mum … hadn’t spoken to her in ages so we had a bit of a catch up … although it was mostly spent trying to figure out plans and ideas for the party … starting to finalise options etc … it will all work out fine in the end I’m sure but its nice to keep tabs on whats happening …

Tonight Perry and I are going out for some Indian food with another couple Terri and Cliff … Terri is someone I know from work … she started in the office a couple months ago and we’ve been meaning to plan to go for dinner one night with our other halves for ages now … we’ve always ended up cancelling / postponing plans because of something or other thats come up … so it’s nice to actually have something sorted now 😀 … and tomorrow night we have plans to go out with some other friends of ours for Chinese … although where we are actually going I’m not entirely sure yet …

Other plans for the weekend include our last Arabic class on Saturday … as much fun as it has been I am looking forward to having my Saturday mornings back again … especially now in the run up to going back to London there are quite a few things Perry and I need to get sorted and having the extra time will be very useful …

Tomorrow morning I am heading out on a landscape photography trip with a bunch of fellow crazy photographers … the plan is to go to Kor Fakkan for sunrise … and as such we need to leave from our meeting point at 3am to travel over 150km to get there with enough time to set up etc for sunrise … and the meeting point is about 30mins away from where we live … so its going to be a very very very early start tomorrow morning … thankfully I have been able to nab a lift from one of the guys who will be passing the Marina on his way up … The idea of driving all that distance in the Jag on my own when I know I’m going to be tired is neither appealing or clever! … Perry cant make it as he has stuff to do on Friday and if he comes he’s just going to be grumpy anyway … he’s not very good when he hasn’t slept properly …

Anyways so stay tuned hopefully I’ll have some decent pictures from tomorrows trip to share with you all soon …

Ramadan is due to start tomorrow (as long as the Moon Sighting Committee declare they see the moon this evening) … so wishing everyone who is fasting good luck …

Till next time …

Mina X

Leave a Reply

