French Toast, Chicken Kebab’s and Cats … A Perfect Friday …

Hello everyone … so after going to see CATS last night at the theatre we got home quite late … for us anyway … and after having to wait outside in the sweltering heat and humidity for a taxi to get home (car is in for a service) Perry was in a right grumpy mood about it … so this morning I thought it best to let him lay in abit … I got up to feed the kittens just after 6am and then stayed in the living room to keep them occupied while Perry slept …

Friday’s are our Treat Breakfast day’s … weather we go out for breakfast or eat in we usually have something abit different … and this morning I made French Toast … I’d picked up some yummy farmhouse wholewheat bread and after dipping in the egg/milk/cinnamon mixture cooked it on the hob … topped with halved strawberries, maple syrup and a dusting of icing sugar to finish off … it was delicious with a mug of coffee …

I had also found a good recipe for a chicken kebab dish which I wanted to try for lunch … I changed it slightly as I didnt have all the ingredients but it still came out really nice … I’ve shared my version here below … its actually really healthy, low fat and Yummy …

Ingredients:

  • 2 chicken breast
  • Wraps (tortilla wraps – wholewheat if you can)
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • Zest and Juice of 1 Lemon
  • 1-2 tablespoons Oregano (I only had dried but can use fresh)
  • A Pinch of Paprika
  • 1 Tablespoon oil
  • Salt & Pepper
  • White Cabbage & Red Cabbage about a quarter of a head total (I only had red so just used that)
  • 1 Carrot peeled and grated
  • Dill Pickle sliced
  • 150g 0% fat greek yoghurt (I used Fat Free Fromage Frais – can also use creme fraiche)
  • Some Parsley (I used dried but fresh is better)
  • Salt
  • Chili Sauce (optional)

Ok so to start with for the marinade you need to mix the Zest of one lemon, the Juice of one lemon, 2 chopped cloves of garlic, 1 tablespoon oil, the paprika, oregano, salt and pepper …

Then add the two chicken breasts … first cut up into small 2cm chunks … then cover and leave in the fridge for 2-12hrs … the longer you leave it the more the flavours will sink into the meat but I left it for just under 2hrs and it was still yummy …

To make the garlic sauce for the kebab, just mix the yoghurt (or in my case the fromage frais) with one clove crushed garlic, the parsley, a dash of lemon juice (about 1 tablespoon) ¬†and a pinch of salt … this can also be made in advance the day before …

Then chop up the cabbage along with the grated carrots and sliced pickles and set aside for later …

Then once the chicken has marinated long enough cook in a griddle pan … we dont have one so I just used our wok … also since there was oil in the marinade you dont need to add anymore oil to the pan … the chicken shouldn’t stick even if your not using a non-stick pan!

When the chicken is nicely browned and cooked through just warm up the tortilla wraps, smother on the garlic sauce, veggies and Chicken … you can also add some hot sauce if you like … I’m not a huge fan so didnt add any to mine …

This made enough for 2 people to have 2 wraps each … but I guess it also depends on the size of your wraps!

If any of you try this recipe let me know if you liked it … Perry and I loved it … will deffiently be having more of this in the future …

I spent a good part of the morning playing with the boys and Perry was snuggled up with Pooh while doing his work … Below are some of the pictures of the cats from today …

Hugo in Perry’s Wardrobe …

Derek peeking out from under the bed (between the bed frame and mattress)

Derek trying to catch my toes from under the bed …

This is what happens when Perry locks himself away in the spare room … If I also go in to talk to him about something … the kittens will always wait on the other side of the door for us to come back out … they sit there behind the door meowing half the time … they dont like if were around and they cant get to where we are …

Pooh enjoying the strokies on Perry’s lap …

I love her whiskers in this picture …

Technically not the best photo at all … but loved his slightly angry/pissed off expression in this picture … and his little tooth poking out is too cute!

Anyways wishing you all a lovely Friday … Have you got anything exciting planned for the weekend?

Till next time …

Mina X

2 thoughts on “French Toast, Chicken Kebab’s and Cats … A Perfect Friday …

Leave a Reply

