Thursday is Weekly Roundup Day! … Allergies, Anniversaries and Whatnot …

Its Thursday so time for another weekly roundup … the weeks have been flying by recently … it feels slow at the start of the week but by the time it gets to Thursday I wonder where the time has gone … does that ever happen to you?

Anyways last weekend was really nice actually … we had Carluccios for dinner Thursday night, I made scrumptious Puffed Pancakes on Friday for breakfast (LINK) … and after our Arabic class on Saturday we headed down to Dubai Mall … did a bit of shopping … both Perry and I needed some new work clothes … and then watched the new Spiderman movie before heading home … we seem to have fallen into a bit of a rhythm where Fridays are our relaxing lets-not-do-much day and Saturday is the day we get stuff done … so far its working our ok …

This week however has been abit of a mixed bag … work has been busy for both Perry and me … and the weather has been really rather weird … insane humidity up in the 80-90% range … makes it really uncomfortable and sticky to go outside … coupled with the 40+ degree centigrade temps and it feels like your walking around in a sauna … on top of all that there has been some crazy clouds this week and we even had a thunderstorm, hail showers and a sand storm on Monday … In DUBAI … in the middle of JULY … it does occasionally rain in the winter (probably rained about 5-6times in total since we’ve moved here) but in the middle of the summer is basicially unheard of …

I got home on Sunday night after doing the food shop and got started on making a yummy ham and vegetable frittata … I’d been craving something like this for a while now and it was so yummy … I’ve posted a couple pictures below quickly but I’ll try to do a proper Recipe post about it the next time I make it … which will probably be soon …

Monday this week was also the anniversary of our Engagement … this time last year we were in Paris … you can read about that more HERE … it also happened to be the same weekend Perry and I made the decision to move to Dubai … looking back on everything that’s happened in the last year it makes me realise how much our lives have changed this last year … and we don’t regret it one bit … it was the best thing we could have done …

I had my doctor’s appointment on Monday night this week to try and find out what my allergies are … so following my skin test the doctor happily informed me that I have several allergies … :S

  1. Dust and Dust mites
  2. Grass
  3. Mould
  4. Dogs

And also I apparently have a very mild allergy to horses and Chocolate (was kinda bummed by this last one) … but on the plus side I’m not allergic to the kittens J

From the sounds of my allergies most of them are relatively common ones … but some are particularly problematic for Dubai, the mould is a problem because it’s quite common to get mould in AC units that aren’t cleaned regularly … which let’s face it no one ever gets the filters cleaned as often as they should … so I maintain that the AC units in my office were a big source of my issue … I’m planning on having words with my manager to see if we can either get me moved to a different office or get the units cleaned …

Grass is annoying cause we used to get the kittens little tubs of grass for them to play with and eat … but turns out that is now a big no no … which is a shame cause the kittens love the stuff … I’ll have to see if there is something that they can nibble on without causing me to get sick …

The Dust and Dust mites isn’t just a problem in Dubai it would be an issue anywhere really … just means were going to have to get abit clever with our cleaning … a few friends have suggested a HEPA filter vacuum and using air filters … I still need to look into this properly … and we probably need to get our mattress cleaned regularly …

Dogs (and as it happens Horses) are not really much of an issue … we don’t have one and don’t know anyone with dogs in Dubai … and my family used to have a dog when I was younger and I didn’t have any problems before … but I guess you can develop allergies as you get older … also I’m going to conveniently ignore the chocolate one … I can deal with mild reactions for the yummy stuff!

Have another appointment with the Doctor next week … insurance need to approve some further treatment … the doctor wants to try going with Allergy Shots! … in the mean time I’m on anti histamines, some nasal spray and a pill called SingulAir … so far the combination of these three seem to be limiting my symptoms … which is great … hoping these allergy shots will be a more permanent long term solution … cause I’m so bad at remembering to take medication at the right time!

Plans for this weekend include another lazy relaxing Friday … I’m planning on working on the Moving to Dubai series of posts I want to do … so will be drafting stuff up for that this weekend … may also do a post for the Frittata recipe too … We have our Arabic class on Saturday, errands to run and things to buy for London after that … normal life stuffs …

Perry has organised for us to go see CATS at the theatre this evening so I’m looking forward to that … haven’t seen the musical before so it should be fun …  will let you know how it goes … right off to get ready and head out to meet Perry for dinner before the show!

Wishing you all a happy end of the week & hope the weekend is going to be a good one …

Till next time …

Mina X

5 thoughts on “Thursday is Weekly Roundup Day! … Allergies, Anniversaries and Whatnot …

  1. Im not an expert but I would have thought the cat grass would not be a problem for your allergy as its the grass seed/pollen that usually flares it up and that kind of grass is just leaf (like in your lawn)?

    • I’m not an expert either but the packet said mixed grass seeds so I assumed it was regular grass stuff … I could be wrong and it might be fine … I’ll check with my doctor when I next see him

Leave a Reply

