A Belated Fathers Day Post …

Ok so I wanted to do a proper Fathers day post for my Dad yesterday but I didn’t have the time to do it properly … and I didn’t want to do something that was half hearted … so I figured it would be ok to post it a day late so long as it was done properly …

So this is a post dedicated to my Dad … someone who has always been there when I needed him and no matter what has always wanted what was best for me … even if at the time I couldn’t see it myself …

My Dad and I have very similar personalities … were both capable of being incredibly stubborn, head strong and argumentative (the cause of many a disagreement) … but he is also incredibly loving and forgiving too … and I hope I also share these same qualities with him …

Over the years we have had many arguments … and I know I was probably at fault for many of them during my teenage years … but as I’ve gotten older the dynamic has changed … although sometimes I still feel like he treats me as if I’m 6 years old … I do think he trusts me more and appreciates what I have to say …

There are many times when we have disagreed on things … alot of the time these have been surrounding major life choices I’ve had to make … such as what to study at University … whether or not I should do a one year internship in Vancouver during my degree … the list goes on …

Even though these have been the source of many arguments … I can now see (with the help of hindsight) my Dad wasn’t trying to hold me back or prevent me from doing what I wanted … but that he was trying to get me to make the right choices for the right reasons … he was just looking out for me …

Even now when I think I know him … he still surprises me … I remember when I first wanted to introduce Perry to my parents I wasn’t sure how my Dad was going to take it … but it went really well … he liked Perry alot from the start (I mean who wouldn’t really?) … and every step along the way in my relationship with Perry my Dad has been incredibly supportive of the decisions we’ve made …

I was expecting him to react negatively to our decision about getting married in Thailand … and had anticipated having to spend alot of time justifying our reasons for this … but my Dad was onboard with the idea almost straight away … he could see the decision was logical, that we had considered all the angles on it … and it wasn’t something we had rushed into …

And this is something that I’ve come to appreciate about him over the years is that he is an incredibly logical person … when it comes to making a point if it makes logical sense he is happy to accept it …

At the end of the day … I am incredibly grateful to have had a Dad like him in my life who cared and loved me enough to look out for me the way that he has and still does …

Love

Mina X

5 thoughts on “A Belated Fathers Day Post …

Leave a Reply

