No More Kitten Jarbles …

Hello Everyone …

Its getting to the end of the week here in Dubai and much has been happening since I last updated the blog …

I have recently joined onto the organisational team for the Photography Club EPyC which I am a member of here in Dubai, and we had our second Organisers meeting early this week … it was really positive and its great to see that all the organisers are equally enthusiastic and eager to get things back on track … the club has been growing rapidly since it started in September last year … and due to its increasing expansion we’ve decided to come together and try to make everything more organised so events and meetups all run smoothly with more peace of mind for all involved …

So far it looks like things are headed in the right direction although there is still alot of work to do in this regard … atleast everyone is on the same page and we are starting to impliment some positive changes … I’m quite excited to see where this will lead and how the club is going to develop further in the future … we have alot of exciting events and trips lined up for the rest of the year … I’m looking forward to be apart of these activities as they unfold …

Hugo splayed out on the rug after a rather intensive play session

Another big development this week … the kittens had a visit to the vets to be neutered … one of my friends endearingly called their little furry balls Kitten Jarbles … and was somewhat obsessed with Hugo and Derek’s in particular … she is also a lover of cats much like we are … but now our little boys are jarbleless …

Derek all stretched out on the rug ... He looks slightly deflated
in this picture ... he loves that rug ...

I took them into the vets in the morning after Perry had left for work … they were crying insatiably all moring while he was getting ready … hungry and wanting to be fed … but we were under strict orders not to feed them as they were to be put under anasthetic for the procedure … it broke my heart watching them trailing around after Perry hoping they were going to be fed …

After he left they settled down and rather solemnly climbed into their travel crate when I opened it up … they seem to like it in there which is good cause it makes trips to the vets that much less stressful … They were perfectly fine on the drive up there and I took my time going slowly as it was my first time with them in the car on my own … but everything went well … they didnt make a sound and I think they probably fell asleep …

Still wobbly after coming out from under the anasthetic Hugo didnt 
want to leave the crate ... choosing to climb on top of it ...

Once at the vets I dropped them off and asked them to put a note on Derek’s papers to ask the vet to check his eyes … he’s been particularly weepy and sneezing quite abit recently (we’ve been keeping an eye out on the colour of the weepy tears incase of an infection but its been clear so we werent worried about that) … he doesnt appear to be ill but it could be a cold or alergies …

Derek looks sincerely unimpressed after getting back from the Vets 
... he still hasnt completely forgiven me ...

Anyway so I headed off back to work after and awaited a phone in the afternoon to let me know when they would be ready to be collected … However I got a call abit earlier from the vet letting me know that Hugo still had a couple of milk teeth which would need to be removed as they should have come out by now … and as he was already under anasthetic it makes sense to just do it now rather than wait and have to do it later …

I collected them after work and after a chat with the vet about any post op care they would need headed home with my groggy kittens … Also the vet reassured me that Derek was fine and probably just had allergies which would clear up on their own … but that we should just keep an eye on it incase of infections and to wipe his face with warm water to clean him up every  now and again …

Hungry Kittens chomping away ...

I got them home and once out of the travel crate the little guys were just so wobbly on their feet they looked like drunken sailors … they soon perked up after having some food and realising they were home again … Hugo was quick to forgive the whole ordeal and was back to his loving self in no time … Derek on the other hand seems to be holding a grudge … he currently runs away at the sight of me … I think he may be a bit upset with me … but he’s starting to come round now after a couple days …

Hugo seems to have forgiven me pretty quickly ... settling down for
some cuddles and TV time last night ...

They are both fine now … its been a couple days since the procedure and youd never know anything had changed with them … other than the lack of jarbles … they are just as bouncy and playful as before …

Derek is still avoiding me somewhat ... but likes to hang rather
precariously on the edge of the top level of the cat stand ...

A final bit of news about our week … since Perry has now started on site down in Abu Dhabi … I’m driving the Jag to and from work and to anywhere else I’ve had to go to this week … and after a few days I’d finally gotten used to car and was starting to get the hang of its size and handling etc … Yesterday after work I was heading to the supermarket to pick up some stuff for dinner etc … and at a rather busy junction/merging-of-the-road-bit … I was waiting for a decent sized gap in the enslaught of traffic when out of no where some idiot who wasnt paying attention rear ended me …

Unlike my other accident this was a very low speed impact … and rather than breaking down into tears (like last time) I was just royally pissed off! … I had had a really bad day … and wasnt in a pleasent mood as it was … this guy had picked the wrong time to bump my car as I was absolutely raging … I managed to keep calm though … it probably helped that he appolgiesed and accepted responsibility for the accident straight away …

I called the police and they told us to go the Traffic Department (which happened to be round the corner from where we were) … so we headed over there … and after finding the correct department managed to settle the matter rather amicably … the police officer we reported it to didnt even bother to come out and check the damage and just took our word for it … I guess he didnt want to leave his Air Conditioned office to go wandering out into the 40 Degree heat!

So after all that drama I finally got to do my food shop and got home about 10mins before Perry did … we spent the rest of the evening watching TV … and playing with the kittens

Up comming weekend plans include …

– Going out for dinner tonight with Stefanie and Bas,

– Pooh (Stefanie and Bas’s Cat) is staying with us this weekend to see how he gets on with the boys … they came over for a kitten play date last weekend but Pooh spent all of the time hiding under the sofa … We figured she needs more time to get accustomed to her surroundings and to come out of her shell abit so she will be staying with us for a few days … if all goes well we will be cat sitting for her over the summer while Stefanie and Bas are away for a few weeks.

– May go to the cinema to see the Avengers again … Perry’s been nagging me about it since we first saw it …

– A trip to Ikea to get a desk!

– Our first Arabic class is this Saturday morning which I’m quite excited about … 🙂

– A whole miryad of other chores etc … boring stuff really …

Anyways hope everyone has had a good week … Our’s has had its highs and lows … but were looking forward to the weekend …

Till next time …

Mina X

One thought on “No More Kitten Jarbles …

  1. Pingback: Our First Year In Dubai … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

Leave a Reply

