Sunrise Hot Air Balloon Ride Over The Desert …

Hey Everyone,

A couple days ago Perry told me he had planned a surprise for Friday morning … and all I was allowed to know was that we were leaving at 4am, and that I was going to need my camera … So I assumed it was something to do with being somewhere for sunrise … then yesterday he threw a bit of a curve ball by saying we had to go to the Hilton for 4am which is just down the road from our flat … so I spent alot of the day wondering what was happening at the Hilton at 4am … by the evening though I figured we must be being picked up from there to go somewhere else … but a Hot Air Balloon ride over the desert was not what I would have guessed …

So it was a real surprise when at 4am just before we left the house Perry told me what we were doing … it made getting out of bed that early worth it! … This was more of a surprise because I’m a notoriously difficult person to surprise … I always seem to sniff them out … other than when he proposed this is probably only the second time in the last year Perry has successfully managed to surprise me properly …

So we were picked up promptly in the morning and after collecting a couple more people along the way we headed out into the desert … we drove for about an hour and I took the opportunity to nap abit enroute … when we arrived there were two balloons being blown up ready to take off and with a total of 20 people in each balloon the groups split up and had their safety talk and we all got ready to get going …

We got in and take off was pretty easy going … it did get hot quite quickly whenever they lit the gas to get higher up … but other than the slight discomfort caused occasionally by the huge ball of fire above our heads it was a really fun ride …

We got to see the sunrise … even with the hazy skies … and flew around over the desert … small bedouin villages and towns … and even a tomato farm!

The dunes all looked tiny from above … but it was a pleasant smooth ride … had some amazing views out across the desert … and even caught sight of some Gazelles darting across the sand dunes …

An interesting fact about the desert sands … the darker yellow and red coloured sand comes from the Iron and Silicon deposits in the Hajir Mountains in Oman … which get blown across the desert by the South Easterly winds …

We were flying about 100km from Dubai, about 25km from the Omani border … and on a clearer day we would have been able to see the Hajir Mountains in the distance …

So after floating around for an hour or so we starting descending and ascending a number of times to catch different wind currents at different speeds in an attempt to control which direction we were flying in …

We were aiming for a patch of sand called the Big Lake … it appears they named different landmarks around the areas they fly just so the drivers and other members of the company on the ground would be able to locate them using these places as landmarks …

As we came into land we realised that we were still going quite fast and as we were all braced for the landing … we moved over a dune and managed to land on a flat patch of hard sand … soft sand is apparently a nightmare for landings … and so we landed … bounced back up … landed again … all appeared fine … and then the basket tipped over … suddenly we were in the sand sideways …

Perry got out first and then helped me out after … we had a good laugh about it with everyone else and I managed to get sand in all my pockets!

After a few refreshments and sorting out the people who wanted to order photos we started to head back to our minivans and headed back to Dubai …

All in all a great morning and a fun start to our weekend …

In some other news … I have a few more posts lined up about our trip to Thailand … hopefully I’ll get a couple more up over the weekend …

Last night I made Pad Thai for dinner and also made a Green Curry to have for lunch today … nom nom …

The Pad Thai was yummy … although we missed the distinct crunch offered by peanuts (I’d forgotten to pick some up) … but the kittens also found the smell rather appealing and I had to constantly stop them from getting to my plate in order to eat!

I had also managed to store up a little surprise of my own for Perry … I had gotten us both an easter egg this year … but because I couldnt find the exact one Perry would normally have wanted … (all the ones I found were smashed to pieces) … I got a different one which was a Thorntons milk chocolate egg with fudge pieces in it … two of his favourite things so I was hoping that he would like it … and on the off chance that he didnt I also got a plain milk chocolate one as back up plan!

I honestly think he was happier about the chocolate eggs than the hot air ballooning this morning … lol

Anyways we both have alot to do today … and I still have plenty of photos to go through from Thailand … so as always stay tuned …

Till next time …

Mina X

P.S. The kittens are both doing fine … Derek is no longer ill and both are as demanding as ever … as soon as one of us moves to the kitchen or the fridge they think they are about to be fed and the meowing begins … its worse if its actually around their feeding time … and they literally start climbing our legs while were sorting out the food … but they are doing well and both are putting on a healthy amount of weight … I’ll do a proper update on them soon with some better quality pics than from my phone!

11 thoughts on “Sunrise Hot Air Balloon Ride Over The Desert …

  1. Mina joon finally I got to read this blog. It appears to me you shoud just ditch surveying and go into Photo Journalism! Happy Easter darling 🙂

  2. wow..its great…brings a good smile on our face when we read this…keep writing mina..:-)…also the pics are good…img 3491,9446

  3. Pingback: Our First Year In Dubai … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

Leave a Reply

