Another Weekend & Yet Another Sandstorm …

We had abit of a mixed bag weekend this week … it felt busy but looking back over it there were plenty of moments when we could just sit back and relax … so overall I’d say we had a productive yet restful weekend … which is great considering how busy and rushed we have been for the preceding few weeks … February seems to have gone by in a blur of visiting friends and Kittens … with not alot of time to do nothing … we’ve constantly felt like we were on the go having to be somewhere or doing something … but this weekend (while still doing alot of things) felt alot more relaxed …

Anyways starting with Thursday evening … we spent the night at home … knackered from the week and not really feeling up to doing much … but we decided we needed to be productive and as it was 2 weeks before our trip to Thailand I was getting more agitated that we hadn’t planned anything … for those of you who know me … you know that I am a compulsive planner … I like to have a plan for everything and then a backup plan … I like the idea of being spontaneous … but I find it hard to let go of the part of me that needs  structure … I’m happy for plans to change or to just have a vague plan of what we’re doing … but at the end of the day I still need a plan … I couldn’t just rock up in Bangkok and then decide to wing it for a week without having booked places to stay or mapped out what route I want to travel around the country …

So with that in mind Perry was patient enough to sit with me and figure out our general itinerary for the trip … we only have 8 days and there are so many places we would like to go to but with Thailand being a large country and not wanting to spend all of our time on travelling we narrowed down our choice to a big city (Bangkok), a mountain town (Chang Mai) and one of the islands (Ko Samui) … We managed to book our hotels for the trip and an internal flight making the most of our time there …

While trying to do all this planning the kittens were adamant they were going to do all they could to distract us … which included walking across our laptop keyboards and iPad at every opportunity … managing to open new web pages and close others (how they managed this is beyond me!) …

I was woken up Friday morning at the unsociable hour of 5.30am with kittens running across my back … jumping around the bed and play fighting … so we eventually gave up trying to sleep and got up … by 8.30am they had been fed, played with (footage of this can be seen here) and were ready to take a nap! … We took advantage of this down time by having a relaxing morning … Perry started reading a book and I worked on editing some photos I’d been meaning to do for ages …

Later we popped out for some lunch and then went out to run some errands at one of the malls … all boring things really … we got back and played with the kittens some more before heading out again in the evening for some dinner with our friends Cat & Gav at the Hilton’s beach bar (Wavebreakers) … it was a lovely evening with good food … and it was great to catch up with Cat and Gav properly and to see their cute little 1month old Charlie …

When we got home … and after feeding the kittens … I ended up with Derek sleeping on my lap on his back with his front paws tucked up under his chin … he looked like a little baby bear … or as Perry put it … a Baby Ewok! … he looked so cute … soon Hugo was getting jealous of the attention and decided he wanted in on the action … he ended up plonking himself directly on top of a sleeping Derek who didn’t budge! They stayed like that for ages, Derek asleep with his Hugo blanket … that was until a passing car revved its engine so loud it startled them both …

Saturday morning turned out to be highly productive … I made a yummy lunch with a recipe I had found on the Guardian website … I just substituted one of the aubergines for a bell pepper (Perry’s not a huge fan of the aubergine) … and it actually turned out really good … whilst I was preparing that … and with Perry’s help … we prepared our lunches for the next couple days at work … all in all two hours in the kitchen was very productive and is going to save us alot of time (of which there is never enough of) over the next couple evenings …

Just as we finished up one of my friends Sarah turned up for a brief visit so we were occupied playing with the kittens and catching up while Perry got to deal with the maintenance men who came round to fix the AC … but we generally spent the rest of the day at home … Perry reading and me getting on with my photo editing, while Hugo and Derek took a nap in the sunshine …

Later in the afternoon we headed down to the Yacht club to see a few friends who were gathering there to watch the Arsenal vs Liverpool game … Personally I’m not a big fan of football but it was nice to go along and be sociable … it actually turned out to be a great way to spend a couple hours catching up with some friends we hadn’t seen in some time …

We didn’t get home late and spent the rest of the evening eating dinner and watching the first few episodes of a new TV show called Grimm … a modern day take on the Brothers Grimm stories … it’s actually not that bad a TV show  if your into that sort of thing (i.e. fairytales/sci-fi) …

Yet again as we were getting ready to go to sleep Hugo and Derek decided it would be the perfect time to start play fighting and chasing each other (and our toes) around the bed … so we quickly gave in this time and moved to the spare bedroom in the hopes of getting a peaceful night’s sleep!

We will be letting out into the rest of the flat tomorrow most likely … Derek is alot more relaxed around us and will us approach him now about 80% of the time without running away … so he has definitely settled down alot since we first brought him home …

This morning we were greeted with yet another sandstorm … we have had about three sandstorms in as many weeks recently and its starting to get tiresome … this one was particularly bad … the wind was so strong that in the 2min walk to my office from the car I was nearly blown over … but on the plus side my face is better exfoliated after being sandblasted!

Till next time …

Mina X

7 thoughts on “Another Weekend & Yet Another Sandstorm …

  1. Glad for the update. Fun read. Grimm can be rather grim at times, not sure if I will return. Look forward to your trip photos, as I remain in the quiet foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, Virginia. I may venture to the Outer Banks of NC for my birthday on the 15th. Lots of rain storms here…cannot fathom what a sandstorm would be like. Glad it was fine for your complexion! Take care and pat the kitties for me. D.

    • I drove across the Blue Ridge Mountains back in 2009 when I drove around the world; and ended up going to Hokies Game with a friend from Richmond, it’s lovely around there, very picturesque.

      • Perry, I hope that you continue to enjoy my blog, as each time one clicks on another essay, photos change. Most of my images are from within five miles of where I live now.

    • thank you … im glad you like it … ive never thought of myself as much of a writer and I tend to write how I speak … sometimes ill remember to go back and edit it abit … otherwise it just sounds like verbal gushing with no clear structure … lol … kinda like where this comment is heading now!

Leave a Reply

