Shiraz … New Job … Ikea & Our First Guest …

Ok so its been a while since we’ve updated the blog … mostly cause I was away and Perry has been working late the last couple nights … Anyway … here are the details of what has been going on with us … and some highlights from my trip to Shiraz …

Starting off with my trip to Shiraz … I had a great time with my Dad’s side of the family … went and stayed with my Grandparents and saw my aunts and cousins which was great fun … for the first time I had come to Iran and wasn’t trying to do a hundred different things in such a short space of time … I was even given a telling off by the security guy in customs checking my bag for not having brought more presents for my family in my half empty suitcase … :S …

It was nice to be there and know that I didn’t have to go round and visit a hundred different people … and that I could just stay in all day and hang out with my grandparents … nap after lunch … seriously everyone drops off like flies around the house within 30mins of having eaten! (its the done thing in Shiraz … if you don’t nap your the odd one out!) …

Went out in the evenings to check out some interesting places to eat my cousins wanted to take me too … and spent a day in my Aunt’s Bagh (private garden in the city … but not attached to a house) … that was a great day … we had a BBQ … sat in the shade of the fruit trees that grew all around … fed the feral cats scraps of chicken … Picked Pomegranates and Almonds from the tress … and then dozed off in the shade … me and one of my cousins in the car … and everyone else dotted around in the shade on blankets and benches … it was an afternoon well spent as far as I was concerned …

Overall it was a great trip … short but sweet … and with it only being a short flight away I’m sure I’ll be going back more often … if not for longer periods of time … then at least I can go more frequently … Although I think my next trip has to be to Tehran … to see the other half of my family … I feel bad that I couldn’t go this time round … but I had to get back and sort out my Job and other things before we move at the weekend …

So I got back from Shiraz yesterday … and after a dreadful delay of over an hour (for a flight that takes less than that in the first place) … and then arguing with the taxi driver over the fare … when I got back to our room I was so worked up that when I saw Perry I literally just hugged him and burst into tears … didn’t think I was that upset about the whole taxi thing … I think I was just having a moment … but it passed soon enough and I’m ok now …

Well I couldn’t go to Iran without bringing back some goodies … and the list of things I brought back included the following:

– Pomegranates (probably about 10 from my Aunt’s Bagh)

– Fresh Almonds – still in the shell … again from the Bagh

– Fresh Pistachios – which my grandmother spent about an hour in the morning cracking the shells with a pair of pliers … and she wouldn’t let me help!

– A Rice Cooker – a gift from my Aunties … and exceptionally useful!

– Noon Ghandi – Or basically Sweet Bread … more like a biscuit which people tend to have with tea instead of sugar to sweeten it … I quite like it as breakfast … and its a speciality of Shiraz!

OK so onto some other news … in the cab on the way back from the airport I got a call from the recruiter I’ve been dealing with … and finally seem to have had all my queries and requests associated with one of the offers that had been put forward answered/agreed … and I am literally just awaiting the final confirmation that a couple items have been officially signed off … then its just a matter of finding out when they want me to start … so I am happy to say now that I have successfully found a job that I will be happy with … Hopefully will get an idea of when they want me to start … will probably be around the start of November at this rate … but will find out soon enough!

We’ve planned a trip to Ikea … along with a shopping list to go with it (the aim is to not get sidetracked … but its Ikea … and getting sidetracked is an inevitability) … there are going to be some basics that we will need to get to kit out the flat enough for it to be liveable … at least to begin with … and then we can slowly build up our furniture as we go along … one of the downsides of renting in Dubai is its hard to get places that are furnished … but we are lucky in that the existing tenants are leaving us a decent bed, some pots & pans and Curtains! … and we have sofa’s coming on Saturday too … so not doing too badly so far!

I have a dentist appointment in the afternoon today and I’m not particularly looking forward to it … I don’t really enjoy going to the dentist … Ive always had problems with my teeth … and no matter how well I look after them they still have issues … so trips to the dentist have never been positive! … but hopefully this should be the last of the dental appointments for a while … heres hoping!

Additionally one of my Mum’s best friends is over in Dubai at the moment with her Husband who does business here frequently … so hopefully we will get a chance to catch up with them sometime over the weekend before they head back to London next week …

The final piece of news we have to share is that our first official guest is coming to stay with us in a couple weeks … and it is none other than my cousin Mehran … who has tacked on a weekend trip to Dubai after a week in Iran … and his timing couldn’t have been more perfect … we will have moved into our flat and just about settled in by the time he arrives … I can’t wait for him to get here … already been planning all the things we can do while he’s here … exciting times … plus it will be nice to see a familiar face from back home 🙂 … Will update the Calendar as soon as I figure out how it works :S … may need to wait for Perry to get home to get that working!

Ok … well I think I’ve probably babbled on for long enough now … and I really should get cracking with this packing …

Till next time …

Mina X

5 thoughts on “Shiraz … New Job … Ikea & Our First Guest …

  1. Pingback: Our First Year In Dubai … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

  2. Pingback: Thursday’s Weekly Roundup … Busy Week & A Quick Trip … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

Leave a Reply

