Thursday’s Weekly Roundup … Horse Riding … Saudi … & More Knitting …

IMG_20140427_140452Hey everyone … its been a busy week this week … which is a good thing as far as I am concerned really … it helps the time pass quicker … so anyway I will start with what we got up to last weekend …

We were home for most of the day on Friday and ended up going to the movies later in the evening … it was actually nice to just get out of the house for a bit and stretch our legs … although the weather is really starting to heat up and its getting rather humid outside these days … in the mornings by the time I leave for work its already over 30 degrees (C) and its usually still in the high 30′s by the time I’m heading home … the cooler winter days are definitely gone …

Saturday was also great fun … we started off the morning with our very first Horse Riding lesson … it was a lot of fun but also a lot harder than I had imagined … a serious work out for your core muscles too … it was a little confusing at first trying to remember how to do 5 different things all at the same time but I think by the end of our session we’d both kinda gotten the hang of it …

IMG_20140427_140452Although I had booked our session for 9.30am in the hopes that it wouldn’t be too hot … turns out I was seriously mistaken and we were both totally drained from the heat afterwards … next lesson is this Saturday but we booked it for 8pm … so hopefully without the sun out it will be less exhausting …

IMG_20140427_140305I really liked the horse I was riding (see pic above) … Sultan didn’t throw me around too much either which I really appreciated … it also happened to be first time I properly rode a horse …

Perry was off again for work … although he is no longer in Abu Dhabi five days a week … YAY … he is now working in Saudi a few days each week … BOO … its not actually that bad … he’s around more than he was when he was working in Abu Dhabi … so it doesn’t feel like he’s gone for very long … and its a much shorter project duration too …

I’ve also been working through our stash of food in the freezer … give it a good clear out before restocking … the other evening I cobbled together this rather random yet yummy dish … it was almost like a shakshuka crossed with a bolognase crossed with a mousaka type of dish … it was a bolognase sauce base (from a batch in the freezer) with 3 eggs cracked into it and topped with feta cheese …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetIt was actually really yummy … very filling and I had the second half for lunch the next day … I really like cooking once for two or more meals … means less time spent in the kitchen which is always nice …

I’ve also been making some progress on the knitting front … I had started a new project just before we left for Iran and I managed to finish the first section of that last weekend … I finished up a couple of smaller projects during this week … started another big project … and knitted up this really comfy warm and fuzzy Cowl scarf in about 3 evenings … I actually ended up using all 5 balls of this colour yarn that I had bought from Iran for this one scarf …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Now you may be thinking what on earth do I need a big fuzzy scarf for in Dubai where the temps are only going to get higher than they already are??? … well I can tell you I’ll certainly be using it at the cinema if nowhere else … the cinema screens here seem to have the AC cranked up to Arctic level cold most of the time … so I’m pretty sure this will keep me nice and snuggly next time we go to see a movie …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetI’m planning on doing a separate post on the stuff I’ve been knitting and some other thoughts around it that I’ve had since starting down this road … probably will be sharing that in a few weeks once I’ve gotten the rest of my Iran posts out …

In other news for this weekend we have brunch planned with Stef and Bas tomorrow … and are meeting up with Terri and Cliff for breakfast Saturday morning … we have a few other bits and pieces to get done this weekend too …

That is it for this week …

Hope you have a lovely weekend …

Till next time …

Mina X

P.S. on a totally separate note … I am finally finished with the Dentist visits … had my last visit this week … EEK … so happy to be done with all that …

4 thoughts on “Thursday’s Weekly Roundup … Horse Riding … Saudi … & More Knitting …

Leave a Reply

