Solar Eclipse and Studio Photography …

Hey so its been a while since I’ve blogged and thought now would be a good time as any to do it! … been a busy couple of weeks and now that my Residency Visa is finally sorted I am officially back at work properly … probably the main reason why I have not been blogging as much as I could have been …

Anyway I had a really busy and photography filled weekend last week … I signed up to do a 2 day Studio Photography course with a few other people from a Photography club (EPyC) that I have joined in Dubai … and it was great fun … the models were great to work with and I┬ádefinitely learnt alot from the experience … enough so that I’ve decided to turn our currently unused dining room into my own little studio … so stay tuned for some more updates on how that goes in the new year … once I have my lights sorted!

As I said it was a great experience on how to use the lights and different setups that you can do to achieve different effects etc … and also built up our confidence in directing models to get the look your going for … and I think even though some of us may have been hesitant to start with … in terms of using the equipment by the end of it everyone was working their way round the lights and other accessories quite easily …

I probably could have just bought a lighting kit and a book and figured it out through trial and error … but there is nothing like working and learning along side a bunch of similarly interested photographers to learn a new skill, discussing ideas and having someone more experienced to turn to for advice when your not sure of what your doing …

There were moments of frustration when it felt like all you were doing was waiting around for your turn or when it got the end of the day and you ended up feeling rushed to get some shots and let someone else have a go … but all in all I think it was worthwhile doing the course … although I think it would have been even more beneficial if there were fewer people doing it in the time that was available … (also with the photos that I’ve uploaded so far – these are the only ones I’ve had time to process … I will do another blog post later when I’ve had a chance to do a few more) …

On Saturday 10th December there was another event organised by the Emirates Photography Club (EPyC) which involved going out into the desert with a super enormous telescope and capturing the Lunar Eclipse that was going to be going on that night … so myself and another member of the Studio Lighting Course Sarah raced off at the end of the day to catch up with the convoy heading out to the desert to find a quiet spot to set up as the sun was going down …

It was a great atmosphere and with about 10-15 people and lots of yummy food being passed around the time went by quickly enjoying the sunset and chatting while setting up tripods and the telescope …

It was great to see the moon through the telescope up close and at that magnification you could actually see it moving infront of your eyes … which made taking a picture of it through the telescope actually quite hard … because of the constant movement it meant it was difficult to keep in focus … but I dont think I did too badly for my first try …

I also managed to capture a photo of Venus on my regular lens … you can see it in the picture below … its the bright spot in the sky towards the top left corner … you may have to click on it to see the image larger …

And through the telescope we could even see Jupiter and its 4 moons which was amazing! … unfortunately we could not see Saturn as currently it is residing in the skys of South America … it’ll be visible in the UAE in April so another photo trip to the desert will have to be planned for then …

I then borrowed Sarah’s tripod and someone else’s remote shutter release cable (i’ll be getting my own one of each in the near future) … and set up to take some long exposure shots to try and get some trailing star images … managed to get a couple … but I think this one came out the best of the bunch!

Anyways … had another relatively busy weekend this week … had a bunch of things to do around the flat, tidying up etc, the maintenance people came by and replaced our hob … so we have shiny new hob which is nice … and then we headed out to the mall for some food and to watch a film … so a nice relaxed evening …

Tomorrow I am playing host for one of the events being run by EPyC, we are doing a trial run of a beginners course in Photography to get Digital SLR users off the Auto setting and I volunteered to help run/teach it … so if this is successful hopefully we will be doing some more sessions in the new year … :D

3 thoughts on “Solar Eclipse and Studio Photography …

  1. Oh Mina Jaan, The pictures are amazing. I’d seen couple of them on FB earlier but reading this and seeing all the pictures is different. It must have been so exciting to see the sky and the stars through the telescope.. I wish I was there. It’s so amazing and something you can’t do in UK. I’m so happy you’re doing this, well done and good on you. :D
    The studio Pictures are very nice. The models are not so nice though but the methods you are learning, I’m sure will be useful experience for future. You must keep practising so you don’t forget. I mean if you only do it in the studio with the group it won’t be much use, you need to do it outside the group as well. Perry could be a good model!! :)
    OK I leave the rest for when I see you. I am getting exciteeeeeeeeeeed :) :) :)

  2. Pingback: Our First Year In Dubai … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

Leave a Reply

